Just a Little Pinch

In the past year, I’ve learned to make bread.
Now, to most that won’t come as a surprise, or as something that is hard to do, but you go try and make some and let me know how it turns out.

I’m waiting.
Still waiting. 

Yeah, get back to me on that. 

One of my favorite recipes for a special bread is a lovely brioche. A dear friend told me about this book, Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day, and I asked for it for Christmas along with a baking stone and such. I have since used several of the recipes, but have yet to consistently make my own bread. It’s just hard to keep up with when I’m tired. This bread, for several reasons is my favorite. It’s just sweet enough that I can eat it with nothing on it, or, I can put a bit of honey, jam, or apple butter on it and it makes a nice addition to breakfast. Oh, and it makes a really good fluffernutter sandwich (peanut butter + marshmallow fluff ya’ll). It’s relatively easy to make, aside from sometimes getting goopy and too moist, but I think that’s maker error not recipe error. It smells wonderful when mixing, rising, and baking… I’m sure I could even find other reasons.

To make a recipe a-la-Caitlyn, here’s what I picture working just… right.

7 1/2 cups of ‘Generic’ Attitude
3 1/2 cups of Extroverted and Outgoing Skills
9 Borderline Insane Obsessions
2 Doctor Who doctor’s; Tennant and Smith
4 Harry Potter characters; Harry, Ron, Hermione, Snape (Always.)
3 Video Games; Portal (2), Skyrim and Borderlands 2
1 stick of ‘Ability to Read’ (Concentration of : Above Average Comprehension Level)
1/2 cup of  Android Addiction
1 1/2 tablespoons of Spunk
1/2 teaspoon of Etiquette
1 dash of Bullheaded-ness
Sprinkle of Feminine Wiles

For Extra Shiny Version:
1 ‘Movement’ Detroit set-list, finely chopped
Red Hair, to back up the attitude
Nerd-Glasses

Instructions: 
Create at Own Risk
Combine ‘Generic’ Attitude with Extroverted and Outgoing Skills in a witches cauldron, mix well. Melt the Ability to Read, mix with Spunk, Etiquette, and Android addiction. When well blended, fold into Attitude and Skills. Add the Bullheaded-ness and Feminine Wiles at own risk. Slowly add Borderline Insane Obsessions, mixture will fizzle and spark, potion may explode…

Let settle for a month. Keep spiders, bugs, and other creepy-crawler’s far away.

For the brioche recipe, which I used as the start of my inspiration, check the book out here, trust me, it’s worth it. >> http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0312362919?ie=UTF8&tag=arbrinfimiada-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=0312362919

Thanks for the challenge, I know I’m late to the party, but I enjoyed this one. http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/22/weekly-writing-challenge-recipe/

Leave a Reply

