Fireman! Astronaut! Olympic Swimmer! Unknown!

Daily Prompt: Ballerina Fireman Astronaut Movie Star

When you were 10, what did you want to be when you grew up? What are you now? Are the two connected?
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/05/daily-prompt-dreams/

 

When I was 10, I wanted to be a scientist. At the time, that’s the only word I really knew to explain what I wanted to do, so let’s start there.

I was in the ‘advanced’ grades in my elementary school, and was always happy to keep a nose in a book, unless I was annoying a teacher by my inability to sit still. Somewhere, in those first few grades, I saw my first Space Shuttle launch, and looked at my teacher (and later my parents) and proclaimed, ‘I’m going to build those one day.’ Everyone brushed me off, saying ‘oh you’ll change your mind,’ but I never did.

Currently, I’m on track to reach an Electrical Engineering degree (If I can pass the math class! CURSE YOU DIFF EQ!) and although it’s not Aerospace, haha chemistry, it still would get me to my eventual childhood dream.

Now, most of you dear readers, might laugh, and chuckle, because sadly the Space Shuttle program is no longer alive at NASA. Wait, hold on, have you not heard of the lovely startup Space X?!
If the god’s of the interwebs happen to direct traffic from SpaceX’s hiring department here, HEY, I’LL COME TO CALIFORNIA! PICK ME!

There are other places that would put me as ‘close’ to what I once dreamed of, but now I’m not even sure it’s more than a dream. My tangible reality of what I am to become is quickly shifting. I’ve found other, similar things that interest me beyond that of my 10 year old imagination.

 

Where will I be in 2 years? I don’t know.
5 years? Well, if I make it by then, hopefully I’ll be … somewhere I’m meant to be

2 thoughts on “Fireman! Astronaut! Olympic Swimmer! Unknown!

  1. Pingback: Not there yet, but almost. | The Hempstead Man

Leave a Reply

